Homeschool laws · State guide

Homeschooling in New Jersey

New Jersey lets children ages 6–16 receive 'equivalent instruction elsewhere than at school'; there is no routine notice, testing or curriculum approval.

Last checkedAgainst Statute + state sources

New Jersey at a glanceLevel: No notice

Notice to the state
No
Not generally required, though NJDOE encourages it. Required when withdrawing an enrolled high school student, or if a district denies enrollment and you do not indicate an intent to appeal (N.J.A.C. 6A:22-4.1(d)).
Testing
No
None; NJDOE says the local board is not required or authorized to monitor outcomes.
Record-keeping
Not required
None required by statute.
Immunization
Not required
Immunization rules cover children attending school, not homeschoolers (N.J.A.C. 8:57-4.1). Nonpublic day schools require immunization proof or an accepted exemption.
Required subjects
Yes, 1
Instruction academically equivalent to that provided in the local public schools (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-25; State v. Massa, 1967, per NJDOE)
Instruction time
Not specified
Parent qualifications
None stated
Compulsory school age
6 to 16
N.J.S.A. 18A:38-25

Ways to homeschool here: Equivalent instruction elsewhere than at school (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-25) · Day school (nonpublic)

Choice Homeschool works hard to keep every state guide accurate and up to date, but laws change. If something here has changed or is missing, please let us know, ideally with a link to the official source, and we’ll recheck it.

Overview

NJDOE explains that the law does not require or authorize the local board to review and approve a homeschool curriculum, and that withdrawing a child to homeschool is not, by itself, credible evidence of a violation. Under State v. Massa (1967), the instruction must be academically equivalent to that of the local public school; social equivalency is not required (NJDOE).

  • Equivalent instruction elsewhere than at school (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-25)
  • Day school (nonpublic)

Requirements at a glance

  • Notice: Not generally required; NJDOE encourages notifying the local board. Required in two cases: if a district denies enrollment and the parent does not indicate an intent to appeal, and when withdrawing an enrolled high school student (a form with intent information). A district with credible evidence of noncompliance may request documentation such as a letter of intent. (NJDOE FAQ; N.J.A.C. 6A:22-4.1(d))
  • Testing or assessment: None; NJDOE says the local board is not required or authorized to monitor outcomes.
  • Records: None required by statute.
  • Subjects: Instruction academically equivalent to that provided in the local public schools (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-25; State v. Massa, 1967, per NJDOE)
  • Instruction time: Not specified
  • Parent/teacher qualifications: None stated
  • Compulsory attendance ages: 6 to 16 (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-25)

Sources

This page summarizes the statutes and official pages listed in the sources block, as read on the last-checked date. It is general information, not legal advice; confirm current requirements with your state or local education agency.

Statute text read on Justia (2025 NJ Revised Statutes); the NJ Legislature’s statute database did not return text to automated fetching. NJDOE’s FAQ quotes the same statutory language.