Homeschool laws · State guide
Homeschooling in Iowa
Iowa offers several private instruction options; IPI and parent-led CPI without reporting need no filing or testing, while CPI with dual enrollment or reporting adds Form A and a yearly evaluation.
Iowa at a glanceLevel: No notice
- Notice to the state
- No
- IPI and CPI Option 2 without reporting: no filing (IPI reports only on written request). CPI Option 1, or CPI with reporting or dual enrollment: Form A to the district by September 1 (Iowa Code §§299A.1–299A.3).
- Testing
- No
- None for IPI or CPI Option 2 without reporting. CPI Option 2 with reporting or dual enrollment: a yearly test or portfolio review by May 31, reported by August 1 (Iowa Code §§299A.3–299A.5).
- Record-keeping
- Not required
- None required for IPI or CPI Option 2 without reporting.
- Immunization
- Not required
- IPI and CPI Option 2 without reporting are exempt from immunization rules (Iowa DOE Private Instruction Handbook, pp. 9, 12). CPI Option 1 and CPI with reporting or dual enrollment need proof or an exemption.
- Required subjects
- Yes, 4
- IPI: Mathematics, Reading and language arts, Science, Social studies
- Instruction time
- IPI: not specified. CPI: Iowa DOE lists at least 148 days a year (37 per quarter); the statute ties the 148 days to licensed-practitioner CPI
- Iowa Code §299A.1(2)(a)
- Parent qualifications
- None for IPI or CPI Option 2; CPI Option 1 requires an appropriately licensed practitioner
- Iowa Code §299A.2
- Compulsory school age
- Age 6 and under 16 by September 15; enrolled 5-year-olds and children in the statewide preschool program who are 4 by September 15 are also covered unless withdrawn by written notice
- Iowa Code §299.1A
Ways to homeschool here: Independent Private Instruction (IPI) · Competent Private Instruction Option 2 (parent, with or without reporting/dual enrollment) · Competent Private Instruction Option 1 (licensed practitioner or district Home School Assistance Program)
Choice Homeschool works hard to keep every state guide accurate and up to date, but laws change. If something here has changed or is missing, please let us know, ideally with a link to the official source, and we’ll recheck it.
Overview
Iowa calls homeschooling ‘private instruction’ and offers Competent Private Instruction (CPI) by a licensed practitioner (Option 1), CPI supervised by a parent without a teaching license (Option 2), and Independent Private Instruction (IPI). The Iowa Department of Education notes that options are now available that do not require filing Form A. Under Iowa Code §299A.3, a parent providing CPI ‘may’ file the report, arrange an annual evaluation and report results.
Legal options
- Independent Private Instruction (IPI)
- Competent Private Instruction Option 2 (parent, with or without reporting/dual enrollment)
- Competent Private Instruction Option 1 (licensed practitioner or district Home School Assistance Program)
Requirements at a glance
- Notice: Depends on the option. Independent Private Instruction (IPI) and Competent Private Instruction (CPI) Option 2 without reporting: no filing; IPI must give a report (instructor, location, responsible authority, student names) only on written request of the district superintendent or the state director. CPI Option 1 (licensed practitioner) and CPI Option 2 with dual enrollment or optional reporting: Form A to the resident district (due September 1; HSAP-only participation has a September 15 deadline; families moving or withdrawing from school after the deadline have 14 calendar days). (Iowa Code §§299A.1–299A.3, 299.4; Iowa DOE)
- Testing or assessment: Not for IPI or CPI Option 2 without reporting. CPI Option 2 with dual enrollment or optional reporting: annual evaluation by May 31 (approved standardized test, or a portfolio reviewed by an Iowa licensed practitioner approved by the superintendent), results reported to the district and Department of Education by August 1. (Iowa Code §§299A.3–299A.5)
- Records: None required for IPI or CPI Option 2 without reporting.
- Subjects: IPI: Mathematics, Reading and language arts, Science, Social studies
- Instruction time: IPI: not specified. CPI: Iowa DOE lists at least 148 days a year (37 per quarter); the statute ties the 148 days to licensed-practitioner CPI (Iowa Code §299A.1(2)(a)).
- Parent/teacher qualifications: None for IPI or CPI Option 2; CPI Option 1 requires an appropriately licensed practitioner (Iowa Code §299A.2)
- Compulsory attendance ages: Age 6 and under 16 by September 15; enrolled 5-year-olds and children in the statewide preschool program who are 4 by September 15 are also covered unless withdrawn by written notice (Iowa Code §299.1A)
2026 legislation (HF2754), per the Iowa DOE, removed IPI’s limits on the number of unrelated students and on charging tuition, and added sections letting parents issue diplomas and transcripts to be accepted like public school ones (§299A.13) and execute documents verifying enrollment and grades (§299A.14).
Sources
This page summarizes the statutes and official pages listed in the sources block, as read on the last-checked date. It is general information, not legal advice; confirm current requirements with your state or local education agency.