Homeschool laws · State guide

Homeschooling in Connecticut

Connecticut law requires instruction equivalent to public school in listed subjects but sets no filing, testing or records requirement; the State Department of Education recommends notifying your district.

Last checkedAgainst Statute + state sources

Connecticut at a glanceLevel: No notice

Notice to the state
No
No filing is required, but a parent must be 'able to show that the child is elsewhere receiving equivalent instruction' (C.G.S. §10-184). The state suggests notifying your local district as a best practice.
Testing
No
None required by statute.
Record-keeping
Not required
None required by statute. SDE suggests, as best practice, keeping an attendance log (days and hours) and a portfolio for each child.
Immunization
Not required
Immunization rules cover enrollment in public or nonpublic school programs, not homeschooling (C.G.S. §10-204a(a)). They apply if your child enrolls in a school program.
Required subjects
Yes, 8
Reading, Writing, Spelling, English grammar, Geography, Arithmetic, United States history, Citizenship (town, state and federal government)
Instruction time
Not specified
Parent qualifications
None stated
Compulsory school age
5 to under 18
parents may delay a 5-year-old to 6, and a 6-year-old to 7, by signing an option form at the district office; C.G.S. §10-184

Ways to homeschool here: Equivalent instruction at home (C.G.S. §10-184)

Choice Homeschool works hard to keep every state guide accurate and up to date, but laws change. If something here has changed or is missing, please let us know, ideally with a link to the official source, and we’ll recheck it.

Overview

Under C.G.S. §10-184, parents must have children ages 5 to under 18 attend public school unless they can show the child ‘is elsewhere receiving equivalent instruction in the studies taught in the public schools.’ The statute lists subjects parents must teach. The State Department of Education suggests, as best practice, contacting the local superintendent to learn how the district prefers notice, creating an educational plan, keeping an attendance log, and keeping a portfolio. The Office of Legislative Research’s 2025 comparison lists Connecticut notification as ‘not required.’

  • Equivalent instruction at home (C.G.S. §10-184)

Requirements at a glance

  • Notice: No filing is required by C.G.S. §10-184; a parent must be ‘able to show that the child is elsewhere receiving equivalent instruction.’ The State Department of Education asks parents to contact their local district and provide notice of their intention to homeschool as a suggested best practice.
  • Testing or assessment: None required by statute.
  • Records: None required by statute. SDE suggests, as best practice, keeping an attendance log (days and hours) and a portfolio for each child.
  • Subjects: Reading, Writing, Spelling, English grammar, Geography, Arithmetic, United States history, Citizenship (town, state and federal government)
  • Instruction time: Not specified
  • Parent/teacher qualifications: None stated
  • Compulsory attendance ages: 5 to under 18 (parents may delay a 5-year-old to 6, and a 6-year-old to 7, by signing an option form at the district office; C.G.S. §10-184)

SDE notes it does not accredit homeschooling and districts are not required to award high school credit for homeschool work in grades 9–12 (C.G.S. §10-221a).

Sources

This page summarizes the statutes and official pages listed in the sources block, as read on the last-checked date. It is general information, not legal advice; confirm current requirements with your state or local education agency.